Lismore Parish Church
also known as
The Cathedral Church of Saint Moluag
The Rev'd Dr Iain C Barclay, MBE, TD, FRSA,
The Manse of St Moluag,
Isle of Lismore.
Telephone 01631 760077 or 730143
All are Welcome to join us at a Service or simply enjoy the peace and quiet and sit for a while
Our weekly Service of Worship is at 12.30pm
We Celebrate Holy Communion on the 2nd Sunday of March, June, September and December
Other Occasional Services and activities are to be found at www.facebook.com/lismoreparishchurch/
The Communion Token
Two hundred years ago, in 1806, our Communion Tokens were cast. In the 19th century, of course, to receive a token meant being examined by the Kirk Session as to one’s worthiness to receive the sacrament. As these people of old revered the token and the Communion it gave them access to so do we in Lismore today, though without the interview.
One is given to each person as they enter Church and all the tokens are collected in just before Communion is served, the hush in Church while this is being done providing a quiet time for thought and prayer.
Made of lead, octagonal and about 0.8 of an inch wide, the token has the date, 1806, the initials J.S. for the minister of the Parish, Rev. John Stewart, and L & A. for Lismore and Appin.
Just think of all the unknown hands which have held these tokens and their place in the two hundred years of history which have affected our Church and island.
The Pulpit Fall
Our beautiful and unusual Pulpit Fall was commissioned by the Woman’s Guild to mark the Centenary of the Guild in 1987. The designer, and embroiderer, was the late Elizabeth Odling, a much loved lady artist who had formerly lectured at the Glasgow School of Art and who retired to Lismore with her husband Ted. The fabric is mostly silk in shades of blues and purples for the sky, and greens for the island, silver material for the sea and gold for the sun with sequins to add sparkle. It is unique in design and is as stunning today as it was when Elizabeth made it.
Alcoves on the south wall in which there would have been wooden seats for three priests.
At that time the floor was about three feet lower.
The Piscina –
Where the Communion vessels were washed, and situated next to the sedilia.
The Church Windows
Click on the pictures to enlarge and see a copy of the script on the Window
The Artist of the St Moluag and St Columba windows, Mary Isobel Wood (1886-1975), was the second child of John Philip Wood and Margaret E Tennent. Born and brought up in Edinburgh, she trained at Edinburgh College [of Art] where she later taught stained glass. Apart from Lismore, she also has a window of St Cuthbert in St Cuthberts Church, Edinburgh, a memorial window for her family in Bowden Kirk, Melrose and windows in Kirkliston and Athelstaneford Kirks. She was also Herald Painter to the Lyon Court and made memorable lino cut Christmas cards. Her studio was in William Street Lane, Edinburgh